Sometimes in 1971, a group of professionals mostly resident in Lagos used to come to Abeokuta to have fun full of social activities. They later pulled themselves together after the regular ‘Ileya’ Festival at Chief Akanni Dokunmu’s House at Ake. The dull social life of Abeokuta forced them to appreciate the need to have a Club as a rallying point, hence the formation of the Abeokuta Social Club as it was then called.

The inaugural meeting of the Club was held on 4th June 1972 at 1, Adams Street, Yaba, the residence of Chief Sobo Sowemimo, who was the first Chairman of the Club. It was attended by eleven (11) members, namely Chief Sobo Sowemimo; Dr. Lateef Adegbite; Dr. Basit Onibuje; Dr. Seni Sikuade; Mr. Tunji Adenekan; Mr. Folorunso Oke; Mr. Kunle Sowemimo; Mr. Funmi Jibowu; Mr. M.A. Dokunmu; Mr. Lekan Okanlawon and Mr. Soleye Sowemimo. The 11 members that attended the inaugural meeting along with others from the 118 members invited to the meeting held on Sunday 2nd July, 1972 were regarded as Foundation Members. The Club was formally launched at Abeokuta by His Royal Majesty, Oba Oyebade Lipede 1, the 9th Alake & Paramount Ruler of Egbaland on his Coronation day 5th August, 1972.

The Foundation Patron in 1972 was Oba Alayeluwa, the Alake of Abeokuta while the Vice-Patrons were Chief S.O. Adebo; Chief O.B. Akin-Olugbade; Dr. (Chief) M.A. Majekodunmi; Prof. (Chief) S.O. Biobaku and Chief J.F. Odunjo.

Successive Administrations from Inception

History will also not be complete if we do not highlight the leadership and administrative development of the Club. Below is the list of past Chairmen/Presidents and Honorary General Secretaries.

Chairmen & Presidents

Late Chief Sobo Sowemimo, SAN
1972 - 1985
Chief Olatunde Abudu, CFR
1985 - 1988
Late Deacon E. Folorunso Oke
1988 - 1992
Late Apostle S.A. Alamutu (MON)
1992 - 1994
Late Chief L.T Sofenwa, JP
1994 - 1997
Alh. Fatai Lawal
1997 - 2000
Chief A.A Popoola, JP
2000 - 2004
Late Chief Kuforiji Rotimi
2004 - 2007
Late Chief E.V.O Koleoso
2007 - 2010
Prof Afolabi Soyode
2010 - 2014
Chief Adeniyi Lasaki
2015 - 2019


Abeokuta Club has contributed immensely to the development of Egbaland in particular, and the nation, Nigeria in general. Among others, it initiated the establishment of the Joint Action Committee of Egba Clubs (J.A.C.) now known as Egba Indigenes Global Association which constructed the Olikoye Ransome-Kuti Primary Health Centre, Asero as well as the Egba Science Education Foundation (ESEF). It also contributed to the development of Commerce, Industry, Religion, Social and upliftment of deprived individuals in the society.

Elders Forum

The Club has the elders Forum which plays advisory role in the Club. The Chairman of the Forum is the Life President, Chief Olatunde Abudu, CFR. Membership of the Forum is made up of some elders notably Past Presidents; Trustees; Life Vice-Presidents and other respected individuals, as may be approved by the Forum.